What Time Is the CBS Evening News?

The CBS Evening News is one of the most popular news programs on television. But what time does it air? Here’s everything you need to know.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

The CBS Evening News is an American television news program that airs weekdays at 6:30 p.m. ET on the CBS television network. The program is anchored by Norah O’Donnell, who also serves as the network’s chief political correspondent.

History of the CBS Evening News

The CBS Evening News is the flagship evening television program for CBS News, the news division of the CBS television network in the United States. The program has been broadcast since 1948 under the original title CBS Television News, eventually adopting its current title in 1963. Since June 6, 2021, it has been anchored by Norah O’Donnell.

Current Format of the CBS Evening News

The broadcast runs for 30 minutes, although it is occasionally expanded to an hour during breaking news stories. Scott Pelley has been the primary anchor of the CBS Evening News since 2011. Previous anchors have included Walter Cronkite, Dan Rather, and Katie Couric.

The CBS Evening News airs live at 6:30pm ET/5:30pm CT on weekdays. The program is also available to stream on the CBS News website and app.

CBS Evening News Anchors

The CBS Evening News is a daily evening broadcast featuring news, interviews, feature segments and weather reports. The program airs live at 6:30pm ET (5:30pm CT, 4:30pm MT, 3:30pm PT) on weekdays and is produced by CBS News.

  Why Is Dan Harris Leaving ABC News?

The current anchors of the CBS Evening News are Scott Pelley (since 2011), Jeff Glor (since 2018), and Norah O’Donnell (since 2019). Past anchors include Walter Cronkite, Dan Rather, Katie Couric, and Bob Schieffer.

CBS Evening News Ratings

CBS Evening News ratings have been on the decline in recent years. The show averaged 7.27 million viewers in 2018, down from 7.61 million in 2017 and 8.09 million in 2016.

Conclusion

The CBS Evening News is a daily newscast that airs on CBS at 6:30 p.m. EST (5:30 p.m. CST / 4:30 p.m. MST / 3:30 p.m. PST). The program is typically 7 minutes long, although it is sometimes shortened to 6 minutes on weekdays and expanded to 8 or 9 minutes on weekends.

Scroll to Top